Home » Lifestyle design » Breaking up with the cable company pt 4

Breaking up with the cable company pt 4

Backbone is laid. Everything checks out everything works speeds are great. Now what?

Roku, that’s what.

So I picked up two Roku boxes. One from the Roku website ($59.00) and from Woot.com($39.99). Each one is capable of 1080 HD quality and both are wireless.

With ethernet port

Roku with ethernet port

One also has an ethernet port. Both support HDMI or AV cables. I hook these little wonders up and sign in to my accounts. Netflix, Hulu and Pandora. Aside from that, I find there is a channel store with over a hundred channels to choose from, most free. I have access to news, weather, traffic, movies, TV shows, web series, there is even a channel from MIT supporting the new free online courses they offer.

So basically, I have all the TV channels I ever wanted, plus a few dozen I’ve never heard of, all the Movies, anime and even games I could possibly want. I hate sports,

small

Wireless only is much smaller

but for those of you that don’t, there’s a dozen choices for you.

I am impressed to say the least. Quite honestly I don’t even think I need anything

else, but my wife still likes to watch local channels and just flip around the tube sometimes, so I Install the antenna…

Because I have an older TV in my Bedroom, I started there. I ordered a digital converter box from amazon that will convert the new digitally encoded signals back to good old analog for my good old TV set. Then I picked up an RCA VHF/UHF omnidirectional antenna from Lowe’s of all places.  Here’s a quick note about antennas the cable companies don’t want you to know…

It’s flat and wide..hehe

Broadcast Television signals are actually better quality than cable. When NBC send out the signal, it’s in it’s full strength and original format. Cable companies on the other hand compress the information to speed it through the lines to your box. If you use the antenna instead you get an unfiltered better quality signal!

So with this antenna hooked up I get …..


1 Comment

  1. Ivory says:

    You’re so interesting! I do not suppose I’ve truly read a single thing like that before.

    So wonderful to find somebody with some unique thoughts on
    this subject matter. Really.. thank you for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with
    a bit of originality!

Leave a comment